small1.jpg Hello all, and welcome.

You may wonder what interests me in starting a blog and adding to the bottomless pit of content that the internet offers us. I believe I may have something different to say. I have found myself to be a rather ‘one-of-a-kind’ type figure in the piano world at the typical high-rank conservatoire today. It must be said that, for me, less time is spent in the practice room, and more time is spent in the concert hall audience, in the CD library, or on the internet’s wide range of music resources. Through a passion for discovering the undiscovered, unplayed and often unheard of, I have bought a new approach to the music of greater familiarity to the average person. I don’t limit this strictly to classical music (a genre so impossibly diverse in itself!) but will apply it to all serious musical genres from all time periods.

My interest in journalism stems from a history of successful essay writing and a keen interest in anything anyone has to contribute to the world of music. I hope to use this space as a field in which to refine my technique and receive comments and/or criticisms from my fellow internet users and music enthusiasts.

Instrumentally, my particular focus is on the piano, so there may be much of interest here for the avid pianist, but I shouldn’t want to put off any other instrumentalists or indeed just the curious listener! I work a considerable amount with leading musicians in their field (and am very grateful for this opportunity, too!) which has given me a great insight into the world of classical music today. 

I look forward to sharing my musings on music with you all.

Best wishes, Ed.

www.edwardcohen.co.uk